Interesting Movies of 2014

gbh_fi

2014 has come to an end and it is time to reflect on this year. Like every movie lover this is time when I want to know what all good/bad movies I saw this year. I am here making the list of movies which I found different and intriguing.

These are not the movies you would have waited for.  There are good chances that you have not even heard the names of these movies. I am including movies from all around the world. Whole idea is to introduce world cinema to you all.

I can name numerous movies that need your attention but I am picking up titles that have been talk of whole year.

The Grand Budapest Hotel (British)

Wes Anderson directed this movie is British-German co-production. Ralph Fiennes plays a concierge of Grand Budapest Hotel who is trying to prove his innocence after being accused of the murder. World in Wes Anderson movies is unique. It is not our normal world but still characters are real and someone we can relate to. This movie is slap-stick, thrilling, adventurous, mysterious, melancholic and rich in colors. I am sure you will want to watch this again after watching it once. Ralph Fiennes is amazing actor and this role was written for him. There are Tony Revelori, Willian Dafoe, Adrian Brody and wonderful Tilda Swinton. Tell me if you recognize her role in the movie.

Mommy (Canada)

One of the most engaging movies of the year is Mommy. Directed by Xavier Dolan, this movie has main subject Mother and son relationship. Xavier Dolan is 25-year-old young director. Even with this age Mommy is not his first movie. It is his fifth movie, second in prestigious Cannes Film Festival. This movie won him Grand Prix at Cannes this year and he shared this with Goddard. Mommy is essentially about the mother who is trying to raise her troubled son. This movie is in French language and even with subtitles I can tell you this movie has every single cuss word of that language.  Journey of characters is something that makes this interesting watch. Xavier establishes these characters and since then we see how and what impacts their lives. Bottom line is everyone is trying to get happiness in their life and even with troubled past and uncertain future, what one looks for is fundamental feeling that makes our lives joyful. This movie plays with 1:1 aspect ratio. The most daring decision I have even seen from any director. This allows him to focus on subject and we are constantly with characters. No background distractions what-so-ever. This one has the most iconic moment of movies this year and I don’t need to tell you which and when. If you see this movie you will come to know what I am referring to.

Two days one night (Belgium) 

I am sure you have no idea who Dardenne Brothers are but if you come from world cinema background then this is quite known name. Dardenne brothers have directed some of the finest movies of last 2-3 decades. Their ‘Rosetta’ won Palme D’Or and ‘The kid with Bike’ won Grand prix. Their new feature Two Days One Night is a story of Sandra (Marion Cotillard) who is having nervous breakdown and this has forced her to take leave. Meanwhile at her workplace, her boss puts two options in front of people, either to have Sandra or bonus of 1000 Euros. After realizing this Sandra spends weekend convincing people to vote for her. Does she get successful in that or not? How does she overcome her nervous problem? These are some points around which this movie is based on. This is not a completely predictable movie. We see nature, expectations, and importance of money in this. Along with that Dardenne brothers try to work on themes of ethics and need of people. This is a Belgium’s official selection for Oscars 2015 and I think this movie will give Dardenne brothers their first nomination.

Life Itself (USA)

Life Itself is documentary directed by Steve James on the life of Roger Ebert. Roger was a Pulitzer Prize winner journalist who worked as a film critic at Chicago Sun Times. This is essentially based on his memoir with the same name. Roger Ebert passed away in 2013 because of his prolonged cancer. In 2006 he went through some surgeries for his thyroid cancer and that stopped his ability to speak, eat and drink. Artificial voice was installed for him in 2010. Roger was a phenomenal film critic. His ability to express himself and to reach out to people was incredible. This move is not a love letter to him, it shows him as a human with all positives and negatives.

My film understanding has developed over the period of time and the main reason behind it was Roger. We never spoke or met yet his writings inspired and enlightened me in great depth. In a way this is a very personal experience for me and I am proud that I am associated with this project through a ‘Kick-starter’ campaign.

I can go on and write 1000 words describing it but if you have no idea who he was then you should definitely check out this documentary.

Goodbye to language 3D (France)

Every year I watch at least one movie that dazzles me, shakes me from roots and questions me why am I watching this movie? Don’t take me in a wrong sense. You are a film lover then you must have heard Goddard. If you have not then…well….hmm

Goddard is 80 years old French director who was the pioneer of French new wave. His first film, ‘Breathless’ was a first film to introduce ‘Jump Cuts’ and since then directors have used them brilliantly in features. So when charismatic person like Goddard decides to make a 3D film, eyebrows will be raised.

Goodbye to language is most arty film I have seen this year. It is really hard to comment on what this movie is or what good it does. Roughly it says goodbye to conventional cinematic language. Tries to explorer how people used language in past and how it has changed now. It then gets weird and weirder. One thing is sure that this will leave its impact on you and that will start a discussion.

So question is why am I telling you about this movie?  Well, this is Goddard and I am sure you will not get a chance to watch it in theatres in 3D but if you do, watch it to see what this movie is and explain me please…

So these are my five interesting movies of year. Not very conventional choices but go ahead and try few. Let me know if you have seen /heard any of these.

NB:  A good use of Google can help you a bit. J

Leave a comment